Buddha’s Wheel of Life

Legend has it that Buddha only ever made on drawing. In the sand, he traced a wheel that described the six stages (or realms) of life.

  • Realm of Gods
  • Realm of Humans
  • Realm of Hungry Ghosts
  • Realm of Hells
  • Realm of Animals
  • Realm of Titans
Buddha's Wheel of Life
Buddha's Wheel of Life

Buddhists believe that much of time is spent migrating among these realms, and how you behave in on life determines what realm you will be born into next.

Take a giuded audio tour of the wheel of life with Robert Thurman – the first American ordained a Tibetan Buddhist monk.